S54 Functional supramolecular materials

Professor Shinya Hayami, Kumamoto University, Japan
Professor Cameron Kepart, University of Sydney, Australia
Professor Peter Comba, Universität Heidelberg, Germany
Professor Artur R. Stefankiewicz, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
Professor Paul Bernhardt, University of Queensland, Australia
Professor Jan J. Weigand, TU Dresden, Germany
Professor Mauro Mocerino, Curtin University, Australia
Professor Martino Di Serio, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Professor Ok-Sang Jung, Pusan National University, South Korea
Professor Yang Kim, Kumamoto University, Japan

Keywords of the session

Supramolecular Chemistry, Functional Materials, Nano Materials

Scope of the session

Supramolecular chemistry is perhaps the most substantial field and major research theme in coordination chemistry since the 1987 Nobel Prize to three of its pioneers, Jean-Marie Lehn, Donald Cram and Charles Pedersen. Many of the recent developments and innovations in coordination chemistry have been attained by the great development of supramolecular chemistry. This fascinating field of chemistry has been attracting intense interest and ever increasing participation over the past four decades. Furthermore, the awarding of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “the design and synthesis of molecular machines” jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa, is testament to the impact this field of chemistry has had. Given the current interest in the field, we would like to propose a session/symposium on “Functional Supramolecular Chemistry”. This will have an interdisciplinary theme to attract as many chemistry areas as possible, for example, self-assembly, molecular recognition, host-guest, chemosensor, metal-directed synthesis, MOFs, inclusion, catalysis, and metallosupramolecular chemistry. The interdisciplinary nature of the symposium will open up new opportunities to make new friends and to start collaborations with domestic and internationally prominent scientists. The participant will taste new domains of supramolecular chemistry and share their recent outstanding achievements.